The Sentence Prompt

Published July 25, 2012 by Elsa Pla

Developing Style

Here’s another fun exercise from the DWP Summer Institute:

Write a short scene that includes the sentence: “This time it was a woman I had seen in the city.”

(A similar exercise: Select a sentence from a favorite story or novel. Write a short scene that includes the sentence you chose.)

My attempt:

Pet’s Cemetery

Dead bodies kept showing up on my doorstep. This time it was a woman I had seen in the city. She had sat by me in the subway, and I remembered her because when I had entered the train car, she had stopped reading her newspaper and had looked up at me and smiled. She certainly wasn’t smiling now.

I dashed right back into the house and threw up in the kitchen sink. Kitty kept bringing me all these victims like presents, and I was at a loss of what to do to stop it. I knew that if I tried to confront her, my dead body could end up as a gift in somebody else’s doorstep.

But I had to do something about it, and soon.

I rinsed the sink and forced myself to get the wheelbarrow. One more grave to dig in the back yard. Soon there would be no room left.

—–

Creepy, I know! Now you try it. 🙂

